Formula One Championship: 1983

The 1983 Formula One season was the 34th  Formula One World Championship, which commenced on March 13, and ended on October 15 after fifteen races.Williams retained defending world champion Keke Rosberg, but their number two seat, which had been occupied on a temporary basis by both Mario Andretti and Derek Daly in 1982 after the departure of Carlos Reutemann, was filled for 1983 by Ligier’s Jacques Laffite. Ligier also lost Eddie Cheever to Renault, and replaced them with Jean-Pierre Jarier, signed from Osella, and Raul Boesel, formerly of March. Osella filled Jarier’s seat with Corrado Fabi, brother of Teo, who had raced for Toleman in 1982. Fabi was joined by fellow Italian debutante Piercarlo Ghinzani, who filled the seat which had been vacant since Riccardo Paletti’s death in Canada. The March team united with RAM Racing and became RAM March. As well as Boesel, Rupert Keegan was also replaced by the team, who shrunk to just one car, for Eliseo Salazar of ATS. The German team were also reduced to one car, run for Manfred Winkelhock who had driven alongside Salazar in 1982.Tyrrell kept Michele Alboreto as their team leader after the Italian won for the first time at the last race of 1982. They replaced Brian Henton in the other car with American rookie Danny Sullivan.After an incredibly thight championship three drivers reached the last race with chances of victory: Nelson Piquet, Alain Prost and René Arnoux..Nelson Piquet won the Drivers’ Championship,his second Formula One title and the first to be won by a driver using a turbocharged engine. The Manufacturers Championship was won by Ferrari.

Grand Prix Date Winning Driver Team Laps Time
Brazil 13/03/1983 Nelson Piquet Brabham-BMW 63 1:48’27.731
USA West 27/03/1983 John Watson McLaren-Ford 75 1:53’34.889
France 17/04/1983 Alain Prost Renault 54 1:34’13.913
San Marino 01/05/1983 Patrick Tambay Ferrari 60 1:37’52.460
Monaco 15/05/1983 Keke Rosberg Williams-Ford 76 1:56’38.121
Belgium 22/05/1983 Alain Prost Renault 40 1:27’11.502
United States 05/06/1983 Michele Alboreto Tyrrell-Ford 60 1:50’53.669
Canada 12/06/1983 Rene Arnoux Ferrari 70 1:48’31.838
Great Britain 16/07/1983 Alain Prost Renault 67 1:24’39.780
Germany 07/08/1983 Rene Arnoux Ferrari 45 1:27’10.319
Austria 14/08/1983 Alain Prost Renault 53 1:24’32.745
Netherlands 28/08/1983 Rene Arnoux Ferrari 72 1:38’41.950
Italy 11/09/1983 Nelson Piquet Brabham-BMW 52 1:23’10.880
Europe 25/09/1983 Nelson Piquet Brabham-BMW 76 1:36’45.865
South Africa 15/10/1983 Riccardo Patrese Brabham-BMW 77 1:33’25.708

Championship Final Standing  – Drivers

Position Driver Points
1 Nelson Piquet 59
2 Alain Prost 57
3 René Arnoux 49
4 Patrick Tambay 40
5 Keke Rosberg 27
6 John Watson 22
7 Eddie Cheever 22
8 Andrea de Cesaris 15
9 Riccardo Patrese 13
10 Niki Lauda 12

Championship Final Standing  – Constructors

Pos Constructor Pts
1 Ferrari 89
2 Renault 79
3 Brabham-BMW 72
4 Williams-Ford 36
5 McLaren-Ford 34
6 Alfa Romeo 18
7 Tyrrell-Ford 12
8 Lotus-Renault 11
9 Toleman-Hart 10
10 Arrows-Ford 4


Let The VALiens know what you think about!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.