Formula One Legends: World Championship 1964

10 races composed the 1964 Formula One Championship and the new season, the 15th of the history was seeing at the start several drivers willing to take possession of the championship: Graham Hill, Jim Clark, John Surtees, Lorenzo Bandini.

Ferrari reestablished its value and the car was now totally well performing while the british squads seemed to have reached their potential. 1964 saw the entrance of a new team, the Japanese car maker Honda decided to enter the championship giving quiet slow cars to the American Bucknum and the French Trintignant.

First year is always hard and the two drivers didn’t end up even in Top 10 in the final standing. Brabham experienced his first year as car maker in 1963, with some points taken and couldn’t wait to confirm again in 1964.

The championship evolved without a real leader taking the top of the chart, races were qon by Hill, Clarck, Bandini, Surtees, but only at the last race the championship will be assigned.

Grand Prix Date Winning Driver Team Laps Time
Monaco 10/05/1964 Graham Hill BRM 100 2:41’19.5
Netherlands 24/05/1964 Jim Clark Lotus-Climax 80 2:07’35.4
Belgium 14/06/1964 Jim Clark Lotus-Climax 32 2:06’40.5
France 28/06/1964 Dan Gurney Brabham-Climax 57 2:07’49.1
Great Britain 11/07/1964 Jim Clark Lotus-Climax 80 2:15’07.0
Germany 02/08/1964 John Surtees Ferrari 15 2:12’04.8
Austria 23/08/1964 Lorenzo Bandini Ferrari 105 2:06’18.23
Italy 06/09/1964 John Surtees Ferrari 78 2:10’51.8
United States 04/10/1964 Graham Hill BRM 110 2:16’38.0
Mexico 25/10/1964 Dan Gurney Brabham-Climax 65 2:09’50.32

In the Mexico GP, October 25th 1964, a with Bandini collision delayed the race of Hill, Clark had trouble due to oil leak and via team decision Bandini was asked to slow down: in this way Surtees was able to reach the second position and bring back the World title to Ferrari for only one point on Hill.

Final Championship Standing

1              John Surtees      40
2              Graham Hill         39 (41)
3              Jim Clark              32
4              Lorenzo Bandini   23
5              Richie Ginther   23
6              Dan Gurney        19
7              Bruce McLaren  13
8              Jack Brabham    11
=             Peter Arundell 11
10           Jo Siffert              7

Let The VALiens know what you think about!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.