Formula One Legends: World Championship 2006

The 2006 Formula One season was the 57th season of FIA Formula One motor racing. It featured the 2006 FIA Formula One World Championship which began on 12 March and ended on 22 October after eighteen races.

The calendar was initially announced as the same as for 2005, with the Belgian Grand Prix scheduled for 17 September. However, on 8 February, the FIA announced that the Belgian National Sporting Authority (RACB) were withdrawing Spa-Francorchamps from the 2006 Formula One calendar due to lack of time to complete improvements to the track.

The mayor of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, offered his city’s track as a possible replacement for the Belgian Grand Prix, but the FIA said that the Belgian race would not be replaced.

Ferrari returned to fight for the title in the 2006 season of Formula 1. But Renault and Fernando Alonso continued his great stage and staged a beautiful duel against racers from Maranello.

Michael Schumacher tried all forms of the eighth world title to end triumphantly to his already successful career, but 2006 was another year with the name of Fernando Alonso. With a lead of thirteen points, the Spaniard won the double world champion and Schumacher ended his career with the runner-up.

But the good surprise of the season was the Brazilian driver Felipe Massa. Debuting for Ferrari, he took third in the championship and gained prominence through the automotive world.

Already Rubens Barrichello swapped Ferrari for Honda in search of a new project for his career, but was unfortunate in the choice and ended only in 7th place.

Drivers Championship Standing

01 F. Alonso 134
02 M. Schumacher 121
03 F. Massa 80
04 G. Fisichella 72
05 K. Räikkönen 65
06 J. Button 56
07 R. Barrichello 30
08 JP. Montoya 26
09 N. Heidfeld 23
10 R. Schumacher 20
11 P. De La Rosa 19
12 J. Trulli 15
13 D. Coulthard 14
14 J. Villeneuve 7
14 M. Webber 7
16. R. Kubica 6
17 N. Rosberg 4
18 C. Klien 2
19 V. Liuzzi 1

Constructor Championship Standing

01 Renault 206
02 Ferrari 201
03 McLaren 110
04 Honda 86
06 BMW 36
07 Toyota 35
08 Red Bull 16
09 Williams 11
10 Scuderia Toro Rosso 1
– Midland F1 0
– Super Aguri 0


Let The VALiens know what you think about!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.