Formula One Legends: World Championship 2005

The 2005 Formula One season was the 56th FIA Formula One World Championship season, contested over a then record 19 Grands Prix. It commenced on March 6, 2005, and ended October 16.

The most-noted aspect of the season was Ferrari’s lack of pace caused mainly by a new rule prohibiting tyre changes during the course of a race. The Bridgestone tyres used by Ferrari could not find the right balance between performance and reliability, leaving the Michelin runners to battle for race victories.Further rule changes emphasised the new focus on reliability, with engines required to last two Grands Prix without being changed.

Renault appeared the fastest team in pre-season testing and it was no surprise they dominated the early fly-away rounds. Giancarlo Fisichella won the season opener in Australia before team-mate Alonso demonstrated his title credentials with a series of victories in Malaysia, Bahrain and San Marino. As the season progressed the McLarens of Kimi Räikkönen and Juan Pablo Montoya became increasingly competitive and by the latter stages of the season the McLaren was generally considered the faster package. However, constant technical failures meant neither the team nor Räikkönen were able to translate their speed into Championship success.

After five years of dominance of Ferrari, Renault surprised and won everything in the 2005 season of Formula 1. Under command of Spanish driver Fernando Alonso, the French squad won the drivers’ title and also builders.

With a Ferrari unrecognizable, the main opponent of Alonso in the title race was the Finn Kimi Raikkonen of McLaren. But Kimi was unable to face the rival, who finished the tournament with a lead of 21 points.

While the seven-times champion Michael Schumacher managed a single victory in the year and finished the championship in third place with a handicap of 61 points against the Spaniard.

Drivers Championship Standing

1. Fernando Alonso Spagna 133 pt.
2. Kimi Räikkönen Finlandia 112 pt.
3. Michael Schumacher Germania 62 pt.
4. Juan Pablo Montoya Colombia 60 pt.
5. Giancarlo Fisichella Italia 58 pt.
6. Ralf Schumacher Germania 45 pt.
7. Jarno Trulli Italia 43 pt.
8. Rubens Barrichello Brasile 38 pt.
9. Jenson Button Gran Bretagna 37 pt.
10. Mark Webber Australia 36 pt.
11. Nick Heidfeld Germania 28 pt.
12. David Coulthard Scozia 24 pt.
13. Felipe Massa Brasile 11 pt.
14. Jacques Villeneuve Canada 9 pt.
15. Christian Klien Austria 9 pt.
16. Tiago Monteiro Portogallo 7 pt.
17. Alexander Wurz Austria 6 pt.
18. Narain Karthikeyan India 5 pt.
19. Christijan Albers Paesi Bassi 4 pt.
20. Pedro de la Rosa Spagna 4 pt.
21. Patrick Friesacher Austria 3 pt.
22. Antonio Pizzonia Brasile 2 pt.
23. Takuma Sato Giappone 1 pt.
24. Vitantonio Liuzzi Italia 1 pt.

Constructor Championship Standing

1. Renault 191 pt.
2. McLaren-Mercedes 182 pt.
3. Ferrari 100 pt.
4. Toyota 88 pt.
5. Williams-BMW 66 pt.
6. BAR-Honda 38 pt.
7. Red Bull-Cosworth 34 pt.
8. Sauber-Petronas 20 pt.
9. Jordan-Toyota 12 pt.
10. Minardi-Cosworth 7 pt.


Let The VALiens know what you think about!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.